Kindergarten, Let me outta here…

Here is a poem I wrote last year during my first week of teaching Kindergarten (after teaching 1st grade for the past 9 years). I was so traumatized that I couldn’t bring myself to go back this year. I’m on family leave and kinda in limbo which is not a good place to be. Reminds me of  an old saying by an unknown author, “Sh.. or get off the pot” .

Kindergarten, Let Me Outta Here!

I’ve just finished the first week.

My voice is gone

I can’t even speak.

TEACHERRRRRRR!

A line, what’s that?

When do we play?

He’s not sharing!

Is it the end of day?

My mom forgot my snack.

I can’t open this backpack.

Where is my chair?

She tried to cut my hair.

Their parents are lurking

To make sure I’m working

“My child is hungry”

“She doesn’t know how to buy lunch”

“There was pee on the seat”

“He’s eating his snack for his lunch”.

Peanut allergies are of great concern.

Yes, I have the epi pen

Yes, I know how to use it

You honestly want me to prove it?

No, I cannot call you every time

a parent brings in a treat

So that you can make sure your child

will have something to eat!

She’s never taught kindergarten before!

Do you think she’ll be any good?

The room is bright and cheery

But it looks so empty.

I’m just a little leery.

Look at the other classrooms.

They have so much more stuff!

175 days more.

Will I make it?

I’m not so sure

I’ve got to be tough

cause it’s gonna be rough!

About amysmidlifemess

Trying to think of something funny or deep to describe myself. I got nothing.. My nest is now empty leaving lots of stones unturned. I'm searching, I'm seeking. I'm sad and I'm weeping.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

