Little person stalking the hood

About once a month I’ll stroll out my front door only to be confronted by a waving smiling little person. I’m not talking about a child but a little person, a man who looks to be about 50 or so. Once you wave back it goes south pretty quickly. Instantly almost magically he is at your side asking for money. Problem is, I never carry cash so he has given up on this gringa. He seems to be fluent in Spanish and has caught my husband (Hanny Manny the non-English speaking fella) on more than one occasion. Handy Manny is a gentle soul who would give you the shirt off his back and always has a few dollars for the man. Question is, what is the money for? My first instinct is to assume it’s for beer but what if my instant judgement is wrong? What else could be be asking for money for? Is it for new underwear? Is it to pay his water bill? Is it to feed his pet snake? Is it to feed his children? What the heck is the money for?

About amysmidlifemess

Trying to think of something funny or deep to describe myself. I got nothing.. My nest is now empty leaving lots of stones unturned. I'm searching, I'm seeking. I'm sad and I'm weeping.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

