Forty days til forty!

That’s right, in forty days I’ll be forty! Always thought i’d be ok with aging but not so much. This seems to be a transitional time in my life and I’m not sure if it’s the aging thats really been bothering me, some missed calling or an unreached potential. Perhaps it’s the “unexpected grosseries? “In the words of the great Tina Fey: “At a certain point, your body wants to be disgusting. While your teens and twenties were about identifying and emphasizing your “best features,” your late thirties and forties are about fighting back decay. You pluck your patchy beard daily. Your big toe may start to turn jauntily forward. Overnight you may grow one long straight white pubic hair. Not that this has happened to me, of course, because every six months I get a very expensive Japanese treatment that turns my public hair clear like rice noodles..We all mentally prepare ourselves for wrinkles, but wrinkles are not the problem. It’s the unexpected grosseries.” Tina Fey-Bossy Pants

About amysmidlifemess

Trying to think of something funny or deep to describe myself. I got nothing.. My nest is now empty leaving lots of stones unturned. I'm searching, I'm seeking. I'm sad and I'm weeping.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

