Better life for her…

My daughter is currently spending the semester studying abroad in Copenhagen. As I type she is on a study tour in Russia. During this semester she is headquartered in Copenhagen but has taken study tours in Sweden, Scotland and now Russia. On her way to back to Copenhagen from Scotland she took a detour and spent the weekend crashing on the floor of a fellow student’s flat in London. She was able to see the Changing of the Guards, Buckingham Palace, London Bridge, Big Ben and the Parliament (“Look Kids, its Big Ben and the Parliament” Chevy Chase in European Vacation). She also had “afternoon tea” at a luxury hotel overlooking Big Ben.

This is the life I always dreamed for her. I knew when I had her that she was going to experience and live a life so different from mine. Don’t we all want this for our children (with the exception of my parents, my mom wanted her kids not to eat her Fritos and my dad wanted a new bowling ball )? I was a high school dropout and a teen mother when I gave birth to her but she gave me reason, she gave me hope, she gave me strength to make a better life. When she was in third grade she watched me walk across the stage at the local university earning my Bachelor’s degree and now I am watching her journey with joy and pride. The sky’s the limit!

About amysmidlifemess

Trying to think of something funny or deep to describe myself. I got nothing.. My nest is now empty leaving lots of stones unturned. I'm searching, I'm seeking. I'm sad and I'm weeping.
Aside | This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Better life for her…

  1. Laughing and crying at the same time;) I can relate to having dreams of a better life for your daughter. I have two girls, 2.5 and 8months, and reading your post of your daughters exciting travels made me realize that it is quite possible that my girls will go on a similiar adventure. The thought overwhelmes me with pride and fear.

Leave a Reply

