Teacher no mo..

Image

Today is the day that I turn in my paperwork for a one year leave. I am turning this in with the hopes of taking a lifetime leave but who knows what life will bring. Teaching elementary school has been a great experience. The children (most of them) were the highlight. Each day brought a new smile, a new laugh, and new hope but the last few years have beat me down. While I’ve always known that my own parents were assholes, what I have learned from teaching is that many parents are assholes. I could give some examples but as my therapist says that would be stewing in the negativity. Honestly, the parents are not the only problem. The biggest problem is probably my lack of passion. I have worked with some fantastic teachers who live and breathe for their jobs. They spend their free time creating and searching the best ways to teach their students. They give their heart and soul into this profession. I don’t possess that same passion so I feel it is better to leave a space for a teacher that does. I know I should be grateful to even have a job in this economy. I will have another job it just won’t involve teaching. So where do I go? Who knows but I can tell you it won’t be into another classroom.

About amysmidlifemess

Trying to think of something funny or deep to describe myself. I got nothing.. My nest is now empty leaving lots of stones unturned. I'm searching, I'm seeking. I'm sad and I'm weeping.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Teacher no mo..

  1. mizzchiff says:

    Good luck with whatever it is you decided to do next!!

Leave a Reply

