What is a Sibling?

Do you consider your siblings to be only your blood relatives? When I think of what a sibiling is, I think of someone who picks you up when you fall, stands by you when need them, and defends you til the end. I have 2 blood siblings one brother and one sister. Growing up in our house it was about surviving not bonding. With a passive mother and a father who chose favorites and was quick to let the others know how much better one of us was then the others, how could we bond? Being the baby and Dad’s favorite (until I hit puberty and needed him most) made difficult to be liked or even tolerated by my brother and sister. Daily, our house was like a tornado with violent fights that often involved weapons and blood. There was so much hostility and frustration that we took it out on each other. What’s interesting is that some of our worst fights involved food. My brother once punched my sister in her head for taking a bite of his burrito at Taco Bravo (true story). The force of the impact from hitting her skull shattered his hand. He broke his hand over a burrito.  I remember my brother getting so mad at me one night over a Burger King coupon (think it was a buy one get one coupon for a whopper) that he choked me until I almost blacked out. With such rage and frustration it’s no wonder that today we barely communicate and can’t seem to support each other.

But I was lucky enough to meet someone in Kindergarten that is more of a sibling to me then any blood relative. I had seen Sabrina at school but after a fight with someone in my house one day (at 5 years old), I ran away (OK, I ran around the block) and noticed that Sabrina lived just one street over.That was the start of a lifetime friendship.  When I think back to childhood, it was Sabrina that was always there. It was Sabrina that kept in touch when I tried to run away and never look back. She is the one that I can turn to when I need help. As much as I’ve always pretended that I didn’t need anyone’s help she knew better.  She’s the one who aways remembers and sends a note on my birthdays. She’s the one who stood by me when I felt the whole world had walked out. I am not sure if she reads this blog but if she does I hope she knows how much she means to me. THANK YOU SISTER!

About amysmidlifemess

Trying to think of something funny or deep to describe myself. I got nothing.. My nest is now empty leaving lots of stones unturned. I'm searching, I'm seeking. I'm sad and I'm weeping.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What is a Sibling?

  1. Teresa Cleveland Wendel says:

    I never thought of my friend Linda as a sibling, but now I do. We met, too, when I was 5.

Leave a Reply

