Sailing away?

Hot Diggety Dog! I received an email yesterday from one of the major cruise lines requesting an interview by Skype tomorrow (Nov. 13th) for a Youth Staff position. Okay okay it’s a pre-screening interview but an interview none the less. Here’s my chance to see the world!! My bags are packed, where do I sign? All I need is a camera, a dress and some clean underwear. My uniforms, room & board and food will be covered. I’ve spent most of the day researching what life on board will be like. Here’s the highlight: (most of the time) on days when you are at port you are free to go out and explore. Here’s the part I am not so excited about: having one or more roommates in a cabin the size of my bathroom (okay I’m exaggerating here, my bathroom is not that big). I am a bit of a loner and being around people for any length of time (other than at work) drains me. Will I be able to find a spot to be alone and decompress? Perhaps this is my chance to live the dorm life that I missed out on. Here’s my other concern: What about Handy Manny? According to the email, the position is 5 to 6 months long followed by 6 to 8 weeks off. How can I leave my beloved Handy Manny for 6 months at time? The book I’ve been reading has told me that anything I could wish for is mine for the taking, I just have to ask for it. Guess what I wished for? I wished to travel but should have said, “I wish to travel with Handy Manny”.

About amysmidlifemess

Trying to think of something funny or deep to describe myself. I got nothing.. My nest is now empty leaving lots of stones unturned. I'm searching, I'm seeking. I'm sad and I'm weeping.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sailing away?

  1. Teresa Cleveland Wendel says:

    Here’s to smooth sailing, and the wisdom to know what to do if the wind changes.

Leave a Reply

