All Aboard!!

I just finished round one of the interview process for a position as a Youth Staff employee with a major cruiseliner. For anyone curious of the process I thought I would share some info. Looks like I passed this interview and am on to my next one. I will have one more interview with a gentleman who decide which of the two cruiseliners I will best fit into. Apparently one of them is a 6 month contract and the other is a 5 months long (I would only take a 5 contract if any at all).You are responsible for any airfare to the ship on your first contract out however if you finish your contract they provide you with airfare back home as well all future trips.  The good news is that I live in Florida and since a large percentage of cruises leave out of Florida I wouldn’t have to worry about airfare (if I get placed on one of these ships). I would need to pay for my own medical exam, some blood tests and police background check. Once all of that is taken care of (and provided I pass the 2nd interview), it would simply be a waiting game. She informed me that many people quit this time of year so that they can be home with family for the holidays. She asked me how I felt about spending the holidays away from my family and I am not sure how I feel about that. My daughter will be coming home from studying abroad for the holidays and then going back to her school campus three states away in early January so she won’t miss me too much. While my daughter is now 20 years old and is no longer a child, her father passed away around the holidays 2 years ago so this time of year is difficult for her and I would like to be there for her. I didn’t tell this to the recruiter. Naturally I said since she was older I think it would be fine. Then there’s the problem of leaving my husband for the holidays and his birthday in April.  But there is some good news, if we dock in one of the ports close to my home I would be able to see him (as long as he is not working)  since most of the youth workers have free time on those days. Is it selfish to want to do this? Will I regret not doing or If I decide to go will I regret doing this? How does one know? WWUD (what would u do)?

About amysmidlifemess

Trying to think of something funny or deep to describe myself. I got nothing.. My nest is now empty leaving lots of stones unturned. I'm searching, I'm seeking. I'm sad and I'm weeping.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to All Aboard!!

  1. Teresa Cleveland Wendel says:

    I’d hate to leave family for that long. As for you, is this a dream you’ve always had? I’ve always been one who opts to live her dreams.

  2. wisejourney says:

    Listen to your heart and make the decision with your head.

Leave a Reply

