22 Hours in Madrid

ImageWe had a 22 hour layover in Madrid upon our return from Copenhagen to the United States. We decided to make the most of it and see some of the sights and sounds that make Madrid famous. (Okay we really just wanted some paella, sangria and tapas). The night before leaving we found a youth hostel (is 40 too old for a youth hostel?) that was apparently in the heart of the city and within walking distance to many of the palaces and plazas that we (he) were interested in seeing.From the airport, we made our way by subway to the hostel. I had heard about the pick pockets in Spain so I was on high alert (sometimes Imageit pays to be paranoid). I stayed close enough to Handy Manny (my personal interpreter) to protect his purse (“it’s not a purse it’s a satchel”) which held nothing more than his old IPod and a Russian Santa doll that my daughter had brought me back from Russia. I noticed one girl with a weird black bag strung across her chest push into the crowd behind me. I then felt her push into the back pockets of my jeans ( it couldn’t have possibly been cause my large rump was in her way, could it?). I turned to move away and she moved to the spot behind the girl next to me. I turned to see her hand on the girls backpack just about to unzip it. I kept watching her and the girl with the backpack got off at the next stop. By then the car was not as crowded but I watched as this girl pushed her way into another group of people. I pointed her out to my husband and she turned to say something to me in Spanish before getting off at the next stop. Handy says she called me a bitch and asked me why I was looking at her. I told her in English to stop stealing which I am sure made her Imagerethink her evil ways, NOT. We finally made our way to our room, went out had some paella then on our way back we stopped for some delicious tapas ( all kinds of delicious sliced ham, sausages, cheese with bread drizzled in tomato sauce and olive oil doesn’t sound good but was heavenly) and finally my beloved sangria. The next morning we hopped on a city tour bus where we were able to see everything on our list. We then hopped back on the subway which was much less crowded and made our way back to the airport. All in all it was fantastic 22 hours!!

About amysmidlifemess

Trying to think of something funny or deep to describe myself. I got nothing.. My nest is now empty leaving lots of stones unturned. I'm searching, I'm seeking. I'm sad and I'm weeping.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

