Classy wine order…

I was probably 20 and out to dinner with my husband who was 10 years older. We were at  a restaurant and I thought I’d be “classy” and order a glass of wine for the first time ever. No one in my house ever drank wine or even beer for that matter so I was pretty clueless as to how to go about ordering wine.

When the server came to take our drink order I nonchalantly asked for a glass of wine. That’s all I said in the classiest of ways, “I’ll have  a glass of wine”. The server smirked and asked me what kind of wine. I, being the classy one figured I’d have white and answered her “white wine please”. Again she smirked and asked what kind of white wine. I again being the classy one remembered hearing someone in the past order house wine before so I said “house wine, please”. This gal was having too much fun. Again she smirked and explained that house is not a type of white wine. She explained that there was chardonnay, pinot grigio, etc… Finally I gave up and with a bright red face said “I’ll just have a Diet Coke”.

About amysmidlifemess

Trying to think of something funny or deep to describe myself. I got nothing.. My nest is now empty leaving lots of stones unturned. I'm searching, I'm seeking. I'm sad and I'm weeping.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Classy wine order…

  1. That’s lovely. I gave up on being fancy over wine long ago. To me, there’s two types: yummy and not again.

Leave a Reply

