Grumpy Gram is Gone…

So, my very mean Grandmother (My Asshole Father’s Mother) passed away at 6 A.M Monday morning. She was 90 years old, on Hospice and had been fighting death for a while so it wasn’t really a shock. My Grandfather thought I might like to say goodbye so he called me right after her passing and I went over to their house. Hospice doesn’t rush the body out and gives the family plenty of time to say goodbye. Her body was still warm but I noticed that her face had finally lost the angry scowl that she carried for so long. I shed a few tears not so much out of pity for her but rather for my Grandfather who had been trying to make this woman happy for 64 years. He is hurting so bad. I hope Gram has finally found happiness and peace.

Hospice had warned us a few days before this that death was close so I called my Asshole Dad to tell him that his mother was on her last leg. I told him that he should come before it was too late. Well the Asshole wasn’t buyin it. He said that he had heard this “at least 10 times before” and this time was no different. He just couldn’t be bothered plus he had a bowling alley to get to. I can’t say I blame him too much as she was as mean as they come. She had a mouth on her that would cut any and everyone to the bone which just might explain my Asshole Father’s behavior.

How can we feel so little grief about her passing? To my Grandfather she was a saint. When I was a little girl I used to say that I wanted to find a husband just like him. He loved my Grumpy Grandmother so much and gave her the world. Apparently, the world wasn’t enough to make her happy. Going through this ordeal and watching her fight to the very end has taught me a lot. I don’t want to end up so bitter, angry, mean and ungrateful.

p.s-The Asshole says he is going to her viewing tonight so stay tuned. He is either going to break down crying or ask Grandpa how much this shindig is costing him?? Morbidly obese Mom is going too but says she just doesn’t like viewings (Who in the hell does?). I’ll be surprised if she shows up. Should be entertaining to say the least.

About amysmidlifemess

Trying to think of something funny or deep to describe myself. I got nothing.. My nest is now empty leaving lots of stones unturned. I'm searching, I'm seeking. I'm sad and I'm weeping.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

